Review: Max Payne 3

IMG_1442.jpg

I bought Max Payne 3 as a part of Game’s 3 for 2 preowned game deal. I only wanted Saints Row IV and Far Cry 3 but I added Max Payne 3 as it was cheaper than the other two and who wants to miss out on getting anything for free?

I left the game in a drawer for a while, more preoccupied with shooting pedestrians with a dubstep gun and flying through the skies of Steelport in Saints Row IV. But that got boring very quickly and when it did, I remembered I had Max Payne 3 hiding underneath old bank statements.

I was sceptical to say the least, especially when I realised that there was no open world gameplay or free roam. What fun is a game if you can’t drive around running people over and get tattoos on every part of the protagonist’s body?

I gave the game a chance and I am so glad I did.

Max Payne 3 is one of the best games I have ever played. I grew to love the violent, prescription drug abusing brute of a main character and I sympathised with his grief and determination to stop another woman being harmed due to his failure to protect them.

My highlights include running into a burning building and shouting at the TV as there was no need for Max to go back in when he had already shot everybody in it, a shootout in a strip club and the infamous stadium massacre.

Although I did miss free roam, the array of different terrains in the Brazil setting made up for the absence of this. Max killed people in the rainforest, in swamps, in favelas, on a yacht and in large developed cities. It was refreshing to see a location other than American state capitals depicted in so much detail in a video game.

The storyline was gripping and unpredictable; better than the scripts of most Action and Thriller films I’ve seen recently.

Through playing Max Payne 3, I have learnt to not judge a game by its lack of open world and character customisation. Somethings like storyline, setting and character development make free roam less of a deal breaker. But most importantly, I’ve learnt that if someone pops up out of the blue and offers you a dangerous job in a foreign country where you don’t speak the language, politely decline.

Leave a Reply

